Annales monégasques

Summary

The issue 46 will be published in November 2022.

You can already order it and you will be granted full access to the website content until 31 December.

Summary

Military history is in the spotlight this year. While a first study attempts to restore the way of life and the identity of the soldiers of the Spanish garrison of Monaco, installed in the Principality between 1605 and 1641 within the framework of the Spanish protectorate, another article tells the story of the military career of Prince Honoré III at the head of the regiment of Monaco, in the French army, between 1739 and 1749, during the War of the Austrian Succession.

Important item in the collections of the Prince's Palace, a portrait of Jeanne Grimaldi Trivulce, sister of Honoré II, dated from the beginning of the 17th century and until now attributed to the Provençal painter Bernardin Mimault, is the subject of a new attribution: Alfonso Pozzobonelli, a Milanese.

Contemporary history is also the subject of several subjects. The two medals struck in the monetary workshop of the princely palace at the end of the reign of Prince Honoré V are interpreted as a mirror of sovereignty, through the reflection of two particular events: a visit by the consul of France, and the development of 'a bridge over the Careï, in Menton, in 1838.

Lichtenstein Castle in Württemberg houses to a French library of around 3,500 volumes, much of it from Princess Florestine of Monaco's legacy of her father Florestan I. His installation in Germany result from the alliance in 1863 between this sister of Prince Charles III and Frederick William of Württemberg. A study of the titles present in this library allows us to understand part of the tastes and literary culture of the Grimaldis of Monaco in the 19th century.

In preparation for the commemorations of the centenary of the disappearance of Prince Albert I in 2022, an article reviews the conditions and context of the publication of the first edition of his major work: La carrière d’un navigateur, in 1902. This The study follows the one, published in 2020, on the writing of these autobiographical accounts in the form of journal articles.

As an epilogue to the subject of the Spanish garrison in Monaco, the document of the year looks back on his expulsion from the Principality on November 17, 1641, from a source never before studied, a contemporary French testimony, published only one month ago after the event.

(full texts in French)


AM45_1 - ANTONI Olivia
AM45_2 - ZENNARO Tiziana
AM45_3 - BASTIER Paul
AM45_5 - GIRAUDON Yves

Summary

Prince Honoré III was born three hundred years ago, in 1720, , and reigned over the Principality for sixty years, from 1733 to 1793. An Art History article pays tribute to him through the study of portraits realized by a rediscovered painter named Marie-Anne Loir, whose work is a part of the Palace collections.

The continued restoration program of the Renaissance frescoes of the palace generated a study and a strong iconographic file on Ferdinand Wagner, a painter from Augsburg recommended by the Count of Württemberg, brother-in-law of Prince Charles III, who restored and created a part of the painted decorations of the Cour d'Honneur of the princely residence in collaboration with two other German painters in the years 1860-1870.

The mythical book of Prince Albert I, whose centenary of death will be celebrated in 2022, La Carrière d’un navigateur, has never been studied. The first edition of the book, which is a collection of autobiographical narratives, published in 1902, was preceded by the publication of articles from 1888.

Princess Alice, second wife of Prince Albert I, got known to a certain social, artistic and literary background, quite representative of European society at the end of the 19th century. In particular, she forged relationships with Oscar Wilde, Pierre Loti, Margaret Brooke, Frank Harris, Isidore de Lara, who are still known today or have fallen into oblivion...

The appointment of a new Archbishop of Monaco at the start of 2020 is an opportunity to examine episcopal heraldry in the Principality from the end of the 19th century. Symbolic representations obeying codes from the Middle Ages, ecclesiastical coats of arms are intended to reflect the personality, origins, or pastoral program of their bearer.

Contemporary history is evocated through a figure from the early reign of Prince Rainier III, Martin Dale. In 1960, this twenty-eight-year-old former American diplomat was appointed private advisor to the sovereign, responsible for attracting investment from across the Atlantic to the Principality and transforming it into a financial center of international stature.

The Franco-Monegasque crisis of 1962-1963 has slowed down the reform momentum. Martin Dale is accused of privileging American interests to the detriment of France. Despite pressure from General de Gaulle, he continued his mission until 1964.

In this time of COVID-19 pandemic, the “document of the year” section takes us back to 1656, when the baroque and brilliant Queen Christina of Sweden, who came from Rome, wanted to make a stopover in Monaco, while the plague was raging in Italy. The sanitary precautions and the political prudence of Prince Honoré II led to the envisaged stage being only a passage at sea, the story of which is kept in the archives of French Foreign Affairs.

Text in French


AM44_2 - VON HAGEN Bernt

Summary

The summer 2019 exhibition, presented in the Great Apartments of the Palace of Monaco and dedicated to the first meeting of the American actress Grace Kelly and Prince Rainier III chick took place on May 6, 1955, is transposed in a notebook of fifty pages and abundantly illustrated. This exhibition has been designed by the Archives and Library service of the Princely Palace and the audiovisual institute of Monaco.

The medieval era is evoked through a specific episode in the History of Monaco: the sale and purchase of the Grimaldi lordship to the dolphin of France, in the context of the expansionist actions of tis big neighbors: Genoa, Savoy and Milan.

As an Art-lover Prince, Honoré II greatly built the collections of the Palace in the seventeenth century. As part of the study program about former princely art collections, which started several years ago, the Prince’s liking for painting is analyzed through his personal correspondence.


Another study about art History is dedicated to the Fabergé egg which joined the Princely collections in 1974. This masterpiece of goldsmithing and watchmaking found its place in the official chronology of imperial and pendulum eggs.

Contemporary history is in the spotlight with several subjects: the history of the cemetery of Monaco, from its origin in 1868 to the present day, in the context of the evolution of mentalities and mortuary customs; the role of Prince Albert I in scientific relations between research centers on the coast and the "seabeds" of Villefranche and Monaco at the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century; the life of Robert W. Service, a Scottish writer famous in the English-speaking world and author of the novel The Poisoned Paradise. A Romance of Monte-Carlo, published in 1922, which depicts a fantasized portrait of Monaco in the “Roaring Twenties”; as Prince’s Rainier III advisor in 1965-1967, Claude de Kémoularia played an important role in the outcome of the crisis between the Monegasque State and Aristotle Onassis; Relying on the advisor's personal archives, an article reviews this episode and decodes the government machineries of the principality in the 1960s.



AM43_2 - ZENNARO Tiziana

Summary

The two hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the birth of the Monegasque sculptor François-Joseph Bosio (1768-1845), eminent representative of neoclassicism in the early nineteenth century, offers the opportunity of two studies: a monograph of an emblematic work, unique and multiple, the Henry IV child, by a curator of the Louvre; a historiographical retrospective on the representation and the monegasque memory of the artist, erected as a national hero. The tercentenary of the foundation of the city of New Orleans gives the opportunity to a specialist of French emigration in the United States to be interested in the ascendants of Alice Heine, "first American princess of Monaco", second wife of Prince Albert I, whose Alsatian maternal family joined Louisiana in the early nineteenth century, after passing through Santo Domingo and Cuba.

The three hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the birth of the composer Couperin reminds us that he had found a muse in Monaco, in the person of a daughter of Prince Antoine I, to whom he dedicates a harpsichord piece. Granddaughter of Lucien Bonaparte, Marie Rattazzi (1831-1902) was a prominent woman of letters and a salonnière in vogue at the end of the 19th century. She frequented Monaco and its princes, wanting to be the muse. To evoke the relation to the sea of ​​Albert I may seem to belong to the commonplace, repeated to envy. The reflection still remained to be led, from three angles, all experienced by the prince during his career as a navigator: at once shipwrecked, rescuer and protector of the maritime environment. In 2017, the "Explorations de Monaco" were launched to better "love, know and protect" the oceans, in the wake of Prince Albert I's expeditions. Madeira was the first stage and was the site of an exhibition dedicated to the discovery of the archipelago, between 1879 and 1912, by the "prince scientist". A thematic file reports on the event. The current restoration campaign of the palace's painted decorations has brought to light, not only a set of new Renaissance frescoes in the Grand Apartments, but also an unpublished archive, which is the "document of the year", and which gives, for the first time and irrefutably, a name, probably among others, for the realization of the wall paintings of the sixteenth century.


AM42_3 - BLANCHY Thomas
AM42_5 - TOUATI Marieke
AM42_8 - GIRAUDON Yves

Summary

The Monegasque commemoration of this year have strongly influenced the topics of this issue. Indeed, two hundred years ago, in 1817, the Stupinigi agreements linked Monaco to the kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia. From the 1848 secession to the official end of the Sardinian protectorate of the Principality in 1860, many vicissitudes have been heard. In 1917, a century ago, the battle of the “Chemin des Dames” gave the opportunity to the future Louis II to shine, as he was a volunteer within the French army. A notebook transposes the exhibition dedicated to the prince’s route during the Great War and has been shown to HSH the Prince Albert II in spring of 2017. Armand Lunel died fourty years ago, in 1977. Philosopher and writer less recognized today than he was previously, he taught over a lifetime in Monaco and was granted the Théophraste-Renaudot prize.

Further to the great exhibition of this year in the Nouveau Musée national de Monaco about Hercule Florence, curious inventor of the 19th century, the first pages of his autobiography dedicated to his youth spent in Monaco have been published, annotated and commented. As part of the curriculum on the ancient princes’ art collections, a point about Rubens is made in this issue. An iconic and illuminated document from the Archives of the Palace is here highlighted : Hercule I’s doctorate diploma in canon and civil law, dated 1584. The former dynasty fiefs are presented through an architectural monograph of the castle of Torigni located in Normandy and which was one of the Princes’s residence in the 18th century. The modern historical period is also mentioned thanks to various relationships maintained by Monaco and Venice in the 17th and 18th centuries. To finish with, in order to satisfy the collectors, a study is dedicated to a topic which may look anecdotal : the Monegasque matchboxes from the 19th to nowadays, the evolution of which reflects another image of the Principality.


AM41_2 - GIRAUDON Yves
AM41_3 - ANTONI Olivia
AM41_5 - THOMAS Thierry
AM41_8 - MAIER Wolfgang

Summary

This issue is mainly dedicated to culture. During the modern era, some princes of Monaco proved to be paints and books collectors. Some of the Rembrandt works are studied through Jacques I’s collection, and the library, which was scattered during the French Revolution, is now “brought back to life”. The epistolary relationship between Princess Alice and the writer Pierre Loti, is highlighted. The cultural aspect, in the sociological meaning of the term, is dealt with a study about Prince Honoré II’s funerals. Furthermore, an article describes the war, waged by Charles Grimaldi, in support of Anjou in the late Middle Ages, while another article refers to the disagreements in the press, during the separation of Menton and Roquebrune in the middle of the 19th century. To finish with, the document of the year is dedicated to the 150th anniversary of the creation of Monte-Carlo. (full texts in French)

Summary

On the occasion of the Russian year, and in order to make a link with the Russian exhibition which took place in the Palace of Monaco during summer 2015, a large part of this issue is dedicated to the relationships between the Grimaldi dynasty and Russia, and more precisely the Romanov family. Then, a study about the commercial relationships between the Principality in the Black sea and the Crimea in the Middle Ages, completes this issue. Two other articles deal with the correspondence of Prince Albert I with Massenet, and the history of Monaco pavilion at the universal exhibition. After that, two parts pay tribute to Princess Catherine-Charlotte de Gramont and Prince Pierre, and the document of the year refers to the wedding of Louise-Hippolyte in 1715. (full texts in French)

Summary

This issue, published on the occasion of the First World War's centennial, is exclusively dedicated to this war in Monaco and around. Through different aspects, we understand the role that Monaco played in this conflict, in particular regarding its princes’ actions as soldiers and in favour of peace. (full texts in French)

Summary

This volume publishes the second part of the article about euro, but also a translation of a French work into Monegasque : Antigone, written by Jean Anouilh. Then, three articles deal with Honoré II (a portrait of Prince Honoré II’s wife, his correspondence with the Sauli family from Genoa, and the French policy initiated towards Italy). Two other articles deal with Albert I (his connection with the Mediterranean sea and the 1887 earthquake). Then, an article refers to the shared history of the Grimaldi and Matignon families, and the document of the year is dedicated to Picasso. (full texts in French)

Summary

This issue presents the first part of a new topic : the Monegasque Euro. Regarding the other two studies, each one is dedicated to a new matter : the identity of the Monegasque nation through the revolutionary census, and a correspondence between the composer Camille Saint-Saëns and Prince Albert I. To finish with, the last article describes the relationships between the Holy See and Monaco, from the 14th to the 16th century. (full texts in French)

Summary

This issue echoes some previous articles of Annales monégasques, as it covers some similar topics: the Menton’s confraternity of penitents (Monaco’s confraternity of penitents was studied in issues n°15 and 16) or the International Circus Festival, whose background was covered in the previous issue. Regarding the other studies, they refer to politics, Honoré III’s wedding, the 1911 Constitution, and photographs of the Palace of Monaco in the XIXth century. (full texts in French)

Annales monégasques

Résumé

Le numéro 46 paraîtra en novembre 2022.

Vous pouvez dores et déjà le commander et bénéficierez d’un accès complet au contenu du site internet jusqu'au 31 décembre.

Résumé

L’histoire militaire est, cette année, à l’honneur. Tandis qu’une première étude s’attache à restituer le mode de vie et l’identité des militaires de la garnison espagnole de Monaco, présente entre 1605 et 1641 dans le cadre du protectorat espagnol, un autre article fait le récit de la carrière militaire du prince Honoré III à la tête du régiment de Monaco, dans l’armée française, entre 1739 et 1749, pendant la guerre de Succession d’Autriche.

Pièce importante des collections du Palais princier, un portrait de Jeanne Grimaldi Trivulce, sœur d’Honoré II, daté du début du XVIIe siècle et jusqu’à présent attribué au peintre provençal Bernardin Mimault, fait l’objet d’une nouvelle attribution: Alfonso Pozzobonelli, un Milanais.

L’histoire contemporaine fait également l’objet de plusieurs sujets. Les deux médailles frappées dans l’atelier monétaire du palais princier à la fin du règne du prince Honoré V sont interprétées comme un miroir de souveraineté, à travers le reflet de deux événements particuliers : une visite du consul de France, et l’aménagement d’un pont sur le Careï, à Menton, en 1838.

Le château de Lichtenstein, dans le Wurtemberg, abrite une bibliothèque française riche d’environ 3500 volumes, pour une grande part issue de l’héritage que la princesse Florestine de Monaco a fait de son père Florestan Ier. Son installation en Allemagne résulte de l’alliance, en 1863, entre cette sœur du prince Charles III et Frédéric-Guillaume de Wurtemberg. L’étude des titres présents dans cette bibliothèque permet de restituer une partie des goûts et de la culture littéraire des Grimaldi de Monaco au XIXe siècle.

À l’approche des commémorations du centenaire de la disparition du prince Albert Ier en 2022, un article revient sur les conditions et le contexte de la publication de la première édition de son ouvrage majeur : La carrière d’un navigateur, en 1902. Cette étude fait suite à celle, publiée en 2020, portant sur l’écriture de ces récits autobiographiques sous forme d’articles de revues.

Comme un épilogue au sujet sur la garnison espagnole de Monaco, le document de l’année revient sur son expulsion de la Principauté, le 17 novembre 1641, à partir d’une source encore jamais étudiée, un témoignage français contemporain, publié un mois seulement après l’événement.


Sommaire des articles

AM45_1 - ANTONI Olivia
AM45_2 - ZENNARO Tiziana
AM45_3 - BASTIER Paul
AM45_5 - GIRAUDON Yves

Résumé

Il y a trois cents ans, en 1720, naissait le prince Honoré III, qui régna sur la Principauté pendant soixante ans, de 1733 à 1793. Un article d’histoire de l’art lui rend hommage à travers l’étude des portraits qu’en réalisa une femme peintre aujourd’hui redécouverte, Marie-Anne Loir, et qui sont conservés dans les collections du Palais.

La poursuite du programme de restauration des fresques Renaissance du palais a suscité une étude et un fort dossier iconographique sur Ferdinand Wagner, un peintre d’Augsbourg recommandé par le comte de Wurtemberg, beau-frère du prince Charles III, qui, dans les années 1860-1870, et avec deux autres peintres allemands, a restauré, restitué et créé une partie des décors peints de la cour d’Honneur de la résidence princière.

Œuvre mythique du prince Albert Ier, dont le centenaire de la disparition sera célébré en 2022, La Carrière d’un navigateur n’avait jamais été étudiée. Recueil de récits autobiographiques, la première édition du livre en 1902 est précédée de la publication d’articles dès 1888.

La princesse Alice, seconde épouse du prince Albert Ier, s’est faite connaître d’un certain milieu mondain, artistique et littéraire, tout à fait représentatif de la société européenne de la fin du XIXe siècle. Elle a notamment noué des relations avec Oscar Wilde, Pierre Loti, Margaret Brooke, Frank Harris, Isidore de Lara, aujourd’hui encore connus ou tombés dans l’oubli…

La nomination d’un nouvel archevêque de Monaco, au début de l’année 2020, donne l’occasion de se pencher sur l’héraldique épiscopale en Principauté depuis la fin du XIXe siècle. Représentations symboliques obéissant à des codes issus du Moyen Âge, les blasons d’ecclésiastiques sont souvent le reflet de la personnalité, des origines, ou du programme pastoral de leur porteur.

L’histoire contemporaine est représentée avec l’évocation d’une figure du début du règne du prince Rainier III, Martin Dale. En 1960, cet ancien diplomate américain de vingt-huit ans est nommé conseiller privé du souverain, chargé d’attirer les investissements d’outre-Atlantique dans la Principauté et de la transformer en place financière d’envergure internationale. La crise franco-monégasque de 1962-1963 freine l’élan réformateur. Martin Dale est accusé de favoriser les intérêts américains au détriment de la France. Malgré les pressions du général de Gaulle, il poursuit sa mission jusqu’en 1964.

En ce temps de pandémie de COVID-19, la rubrique « document de l’année » nous ramène en 1656, lorsque la baroque et brillante reine Christine de Suède, venue de Rome, voulut faire escale à Monaco, alors que la peste sévissait en Italie. Les précautions sanitaires et la prudence politique du prince Honoré II amènent à ce que l’étape envisagée ne soit qu’un passage en mer, dont le récit est conservé dans les archives des Affaires étrangères françaises.


Sommaire des articles

AM44_2 - VON HAGEN Bernt

Résumé

L’exposition de l’été 2019 au sein des Grands Appartements du Palais, consacrée à la première rencontre, le 6 mai 1955, de l’actrice américaine Grace Kelly et du prince Rainier III, conçue par les Archives du Palais princier et par l’Institut audiovisuel de Monaco, est transposée dans un cahier d’une cinquantaine de pages, abondamment illustré.

L’époque médiévale est évoquée à travers un épisode particulier de l’histoire de Monaco : la vente et l’achat de la seigneurie des Grimaldi au dauphin de France, dans le contexte des menées expansionnistes de ses grands voisins : Gênes, la Savoie et Milan.

Prince amateur d’art, Honoré II a considérablement enrichi les collections du Palais au XVIIe siècle. Dans le cadre du programme d’étude sur les anciennes collections d’art princières, débuté il y a plusieurs années, les goûts de ce prince en matière de peinture font l’objet d’une analyse à travers sa correspondance personnelle.


Une autre étude d’histoire de l’art fait le point sur l’œuf de Fabergé qui a intégré les collections princières en 1974, permettant d’attribuer à ce chef-d’œuvre d’orfèvrerie et d’horlogerie la place qui est la sienne dans la chronologie officielle des œufs impériaux et des œufs pendules.

L’histoire contemporaine est à l’honneur avec plusieurs sujets : l’histoire du cimetière de Monaco, de son origine en 1868 à nos jours, dans le contexte de l’évolution des mentalités et des usages mortuaires ; le rôle du prince Albert Ier dans les relations scientifiques entre les centres de recherches sur le littoral et les « fonds de la mer » de Villefranche et Monacoà la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe siècle ; l’évocation de la vie de Robert W. Service, un écrivain écossais populaire dans le monde anglo-saxon, auteur du roman The Poisoned Paradise. A Romance of Monte-Carlo; publié en 1922, qui brosse un portrait fantasmé du Monaco des « Années folles » ; comme conseiller du prince Rainier III en 1965-1967, Claude de Kémoulariaa joué un rôle important dans le dénouement de la crise opposant l’État monégasque et Aristote Onassis; s’appuyant sur les archives personnelles du conseiller, un article revient sur cet épisode et décrypte les rouages gouvernementaux de la principauté dans les années 1960.



Sommaire des articles

AM43_2 - ZENNARO Tiziana

Résumé

Le deux-cent-cinquantième anniversaire de la naissance du sculpteur monégasque François-Joseph Bosio (1768-1845), éminent représentant du néoclassicisme au début du XIXe siècle, offre l’occasion de deux études : une monographie d’une œuvre emblématique, unique et multiple, l’Henri IV enfant, par une conservatrice du Louvre ; une rétrospective historiographique sur la représentation et la mémoire monégasque de l’artiste, érigé en héros national. Le tricentenaire de la fondation de la ville de La Nouvelle-Orléans donne l’occasion à une spécialiste de l’émigration française aux États-Unis de s’intéresser aux ascendants d’Alice Heine, « première princesse américaine de Monaco », seconde épouse du prince Albert Ier, dont la famille maternelle alsacienne a rejoint la Louisiane au début du XIXe siècle, après être passée par Saint-Domingue et Cuba.

Le trois-cent-cinquantième anniversaire de la naissance du compositeur Couperin sert à rappeler qu’il avait trouvé à Monaco une muse, en la personne d’une fille du prince Antoine Ier, à qui il dédie une pièce de clavecin. Petite-fille de Lucien Bonaparte, Marie Rattazzi (1831-1902) a été une femme de lettres en vue et une salonnière en vogue à la fin du XIXe siècle. Elle a fréquenté Monaco et ses princes, voulant en être l’égérie. Évoquer le rapport à la mer d’Albert Ier peut sembler relever du lieu commun, répété à l’envie. La réflexion restait pourtant à mener, sous trois angles, tous expérimentés par le prince durant sa carrière de navigateur : à la fois naufragé, sauveteur et protecteur du milieu maritime. En 2017, ont été lancées les « Explorations de Monaco », pour mieux faire « aimer, connaître et protéger » les océans, dans le sillage des expéditions du prince Albert Ier. Madère en a été la première étape et a été le lieu d’une exposition consacrée à la découverte de l’archipel, entre 1879 et 1912, par le « prince savant ». Un dossier thématique rend compte de la manifestation. L’actuelle campagne de restauration des décors peints du palais a permis de mettre au jour, non seulement un ensemble de nouvelles fresques d’époque Renaissance dans les Grands Appartements, mais aussi une archive inédite, qui est le « document de l’année », et qui donne, pour la première fois et de manière irréfutable, un nom, sans doute parmi d’autres, pour la réalisation des peintures murales du XVIe siècle.


Sommaire des articles

AM42_3 - BLANCHY Thomas
AM42_5 - TOUATI Marieke
AM42_8 - GIRAUDON Yves

Résumé

Les commémorations monégasques de l’année ont guidé le choix de plusieurs sujets de ce numéro. Ainsi, il y a deux cents ans, en 1817, les conventions de Stupinigi liaient Monaco au royaume de Piémont-Sardaigne. Les vicissitudes de leur application sont évoquées par-delà la sécession de 1848, jusqu’à la fin officielle du protectorat sarde sur la Principauté en 1860. En 1917, il y a cent ans, la bataille du Chemin des Dames donnait l’occasion au futur Louis II, engagé volontaire dans l’armée française, de s’illustrer. Un cahier transpose l’exposition consacrée au parcours du prince pendant la Grande Guerre, présentée lors du déplacement sur le terrain de S.A.S. le Prince Albert II au printemps 2017. En 1977, il y a quarante ans, disparaissait Armand Lunel, philosophe et écrivain aujourd’hui méconnu, remarqué en son temps par le prix Théophraste-Renaudot, et qui fit toute sa carrière professorale à Monaco.

Comme suite de la grande exposition qui s’est tenue cette année au Nouveau Musée national de Monaco sur Hercule Florence, curieux inventeur du XIXe siècle, sont publiées, annotées et commentées, les premières pages de son autobiographie, consacrées à sa jeunesse monégasque. Dans le cadre du programme d’étude sur les anciennes collections d’art princières, le point est fait, cette année, sur Rubens. Un document emblématique, enluminé, des Archives du Palais est mis à l’honneur : le diplôme de doctorat dans les deux droits obtenu par Hercule Ier en 1584. Les anciens fiefs de la dynastie sont présents à travers une monographie architecturale du château de Torigni, en Normandie, qui fut une des résidences princières au XVIIIe siècle. La période historique moderne se trouve aussi évoquée par l’examen des diverses relations entretenues par Monaco avec Venise aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles. Enfin, pour la satisfaction des collectionneurs, une étude est consacrée à un sujet à l’apparence anecdotique, les boîtes d’allumettes monégasques du XIXe siècle à nos jours, mais dont l’évolution reflète une certaine image de la Principauté.


Sommaire des articles

AM41_2 - GIRAUDON Yves
AM41_3 - ANTONI Olivia
AM41_5 - THOMAS Thierry
AM41_8 - MAIER Wolfgang

Résumé

Ce numéro est consacré, pour une large part, à la culture. Durant l’époque moderne, certains princes de Monaco se révèlent de véritables collectionneurs, notamment de tableaux et de livres. Certaines œuvres de Rembrandt sont ici explorées au travers de la collection de Jacques Ier tandis que la bibliothèque du Palais, dispersée à la Révolution française, est « ressuscitée ». La relation, notamment épistolaire, entre la princesse Alice et l’écrivain Pierre Loti, est mise au jour. L’aspect culturel, au sens sociologique du terme, ressort également d’une étude sur les funérailles du prince Honoré II.

En dehors de cette thématique, un article analyse la guerre menée par Charles Grimaldi au service des Anjou à la fin du Moyen Âge, tandis qu’un autre exhume les confrontations de plumes dans la presse au moment de la séparation de Menton et de Roquebrune au milieu du XIXe siècle. Enfin, le cent-cinquantième anniversaire de la création de Monte-Carlo fait l’objet de la rubrique « document de l’année ».


Sommaire des articles

AM40_2 - NOERO Michelle
AM40_4 - GIRAUDON Yves
AM40_5 - CONTES Julien

Résumé

À l’occasion de l’année de la Russie, un dossier est consacré aux relations entre la dynastie Grimaldi et la Russie, et plus particulièrement avec les Romanov, reprenant la thématique d’une exposition qui a eu lieu au palais de Monaco durant l’été 2015. Autour de ce thème, une étude sur les contacts des Grimaldi en mer Noire et avec la Crimée au Moyen Âge complète le dossier. Deux articles traitent de l’époque du prince Albert Ier, de manières très diverses : le premier s’attarde sur la correspondance que le souverain a échangé avec Massenet, tandis que le second, retrace l’historique des pavillons de la principauté aux expositions universelles. Deux autres études rendent hommage à deux figures ; la princesse Catherine-Charlotte de Gramont et le prince Pierre de Monaco. Enfin, le document de l’année célèbre un anniversaire puisqu’il s’agit du contrat de mariage de Louise-Hippolyte, datant de 1715.

Résumé

Ce numéro, publié à l’occasion du centenaire du début de la Première Guerre mondiale, se consacre exclusivement à la thématique de Grande Guerre à Monaco et alentour. À travers de nombreux aspects, on comprend le rôle que la Principauté a joué dans le conflit, notamment par l’action de ses princes en faveur de la paix et comme soldat.

Résumé

Ce volume publie la deuxième partie de l’article sur l’euro, mais également la seconde traduction d’une oeuvre littéraire française en monégasque. Après les Lettres de Mon Moulin (n° 29), c’est au tour d’Antigone de Jean Anouilh. Par ailleurs, les articles de ce numéro sont très divers. Trois d’entre eux gravitent autour du prince Honoré II (le portrait de son épouse ; une correspondance qu’il a échangé avec la famille Sauli de Gênes, et la politique de la France à l’égard de l’Italie, dont la principauté a fait partie). Deux autres études traitent du temps du prince Albert Ier (les rapports de ce souverain avec la méditerranée et le séisme de 1887). Enfin, les deux dernières collent à l’actualité de leur écriture avec l’histoire commune des familles Grimaldi et Matignon, ainsi que le document de l’année consacré à Picasso.

Résumé

Un article (en deux parties) sur l’histoire monétaire éclaire un nouveau thème, encore jamais abordé, l’Euro monégasque. Quant à deux autres études, chacune se consacre à un sujet inédit : la question de l’identité de la nation monégasque à travers les recensements révolutionnaires, et une correspondance échangée entre le compositeur Camille Saint-Saëns et le prince Albert Ier. Enfin, la dernière dépeint les rapports que le Saint-Siège tisse avec Monaco du XIVe au XVIe.

Résumé

Par deux articles, ce numéro fait écho à d’autres opus qui ont abordé des thèmes similaires : les confréries de pénitents de Monaco (numéros 15 et 16) laissent à présent la place à celles de Menton, le Festival du Cirque, dont la genèse a été abordée dans le numéro précédent, a droit à une rétrospective de 36 ans. Quant aux autres études, elles traitent autant de politique, à des périodes très diverses, avec le mariage d’Honoré III et la constitution de 1911, que d’histoire, avec le palais de Monaco vu à travers de photographies du XIXe.